Adventure Time Title Cards.

https://www.themarysue.com/adventure-time-title-cards/

adventure time title

An example of an extremely successful animated show is of course, Adventure Time! It’s been on the air for, pffshht, since 2009, which is crazy to think about for an animator like myself. Show’s don’t tend to last aslong as this one managed to, even in the anime industry which is known for their year long shows. I’ve loved Adventure Time ever since it came out when I was around 13 years old, and having a brother who was 7 we enjoyed watching the show together. Adventure Time offered me something no other shows on Cartoon Network (I felt) were offering children at the time, ‘AT’ deals with lots of issues revolving around morality, decisions, emotions, age, love and the universe. It’s incredibly unique stories which made you feel like anything was possible was incredibly inspiration for a young artist like myself. I think I always found a sense of escapability within the show, I could watch it and be transported to another realm, with creatures, ideas and characters that were all so complex and played their own roles within their universe. Such a beautiful series deserved to do as well as it did, although it’s now finished, I hope people and young children will continue to watch it and be inspired and excited by the world of Adventure Time.

adventure time moodb.jpg

In terms of collaboration inspiration, I remember finding the title cards that would be played at the begining of each show along with some sort of eery tone made you think of the deeper message that will perhaps be subtly reflected within the animation. The title cards were done in a similar fashion to styles I’ve seen used in older animations, the weird hyper detailed shots which are very different to the animation itself.

So me and Hannah remembered seeing these title cards when watching Adventure Time and loved the style and the way they set you up ready for the show, this is something we are looking into doing whether throughout the animation or just as a title/Poster.

The ones that pop to mind immediately are spongebob (which I always seemed to hate and never found funny for some reason) and the Misadventures of Flapjack.

SpongeBob

Image result for spongebob hyper detail shots

Related image

Sort of disturbing right? And the age group is probably around 6+?

 

The Misadventures of Flapjack

 

Related image

Related image

Image result for misadventure of flapjack    Again, quite alot of disturbing imagery for a young audience, I wonder why animators choose to do this, and interesting that Cartoon Network and other channels seem to look past scenes like this. Maybe it’s because it’s become the ‘norm’.

Image result for misadventure of flapjack

 

 

 

Chowder

Image result for chowder the cinnamini monster

Sadly this show wasn’t aired for very long so I’m struggling to find shots that follow in this style although after speaking to my mum who remembers us watching creepy shows like this, we’re both certain it did. This image is taken from an episode called ‘The Cinnamini Monster’ which I still remember to this day creeped me out with its eery tones. eesh. Watch the preview below if you dare.

 

Leave a comment